“I know this is silly but I like rainy days when I’m sad.”

This morning I was cleaning out the girls’ school folders, part of my daily, desperate attempt to get organized — or at least find the surface of the dining room table.

I love those folders. You never know what you’ll find. Confetti, sometimes, or a note about the swine flu, but this morning, a small jackpot: Annabelle’s weather folder.

They must have just finished up a unit on weather in her class; the folder’s packed with worksheets. I’m sure she learned all sorts of important scientific stuff, I’ll look through it later, but my favorite part is the cover.

“I know this is silly but I like rainy days when I’m sad,” a little girl in the lower left corner says. I asked Annabelle how she thought of that and she just smiled and shrugged and stretched , then settled back into her favorite corner of the couch, where she’s watching Noggin and waiting for Ray and Sophie to come home with bagels. She beamed when I told her I loved her cover so much I had to take a picture. Here it is, in part:

weather1

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““I know this is silly but I like rainy days when I’m sad.”

  1. I wonder if that was something she read or out of her own head? It is very good! I love that little girl at the tops smile! Funny ’cause I just posted some of my daughter’s art work too!

  2. Robert Polk

    You are a fortunate parent. It’s warming to see our children thrive.

Leave a Reply

