Handmade Birthday, Part One

Sophie’s birthday party was a success.

And that’s about all I’ll say for the moment, because I’m sick as a dog (hopefully not sick as a pig — I think this is just a summer cold). I have a long, involved post in my head about the whole notion of the DIY aesthetic and why we find it so meaningful in these times. But right now, I need to find a clear surface on the couch and crawl onto it. Ray took the girls to another birthday party, so I’m actually home alone on a Sunday afternoon. Unheard of.

I’ll leave you with the artwork my mother did for the invite to Sophie’s party. More to come.

sophie bday pic

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Handmade Birthday, Part One

  1. Mary Ellen

    That is adorable. Clearly I need to take lessons from you on how to create birthday parties.

  2. Oh know! I hope you feel better soon.
    I thought about you guys all weekend and wondered how the party went. Can’t wait to hear more about it. What a wonderful drawing by your mom!

  3. I mean, Oh no!
    Why do I always make the stupidest typos when writing to you?
    Yup, I went to CU alright. Can’t you tell?

  4. Leah

    VERY impressed by Suzie’s abilities. I had no idea!

  5. Can I borrow your mom for a while?

  6. Wow, I’m sorry that you’re sick but I just love that drawing!

Leave a Reply

